Adults with Learning Difficulties

Chris Chappell

Herefordshire is some way behind with its provision of care for adults who have learning difficulties. At the end of last year, the council's scrutiny committee told Cllr Graham Powell to appoint an 'Advocate' for this group of vulnerable people. I was asked to take on this role and have been busy since then trying to understand how we in Herefordshire got so behind.

Until I retired recently, I was a care worker, and I also have a close relative who has learning difficulties so I have some experience.

I am currently visiting day centres, speaking to care providers, etc. I need the public, you, to let me know if you have come across any problems, if you have a relative who has learning difficulties and has experienced difficulties.

I am a great believer in communication and information gathering but if I do not know of a problem I may not be able to solve it. If I am to hold the council to account, and adults with learning difficulties to hold me to account for them, I need to hear from everyone one who believes they have a contribution to make. Hereford Voice is a great way to get information out, to hear people's views, swap ideas and get a feel for a situation. Hope you can help me help a vulnerable group of people who often get overlooked when budgets are set!

Councillor Chappell, They couldn't have chosen a better man. Despite your sharp teeth, I was pleased when I heard you'd been appointed to this role. You'll do a good job and Graham Powell, despite his political colours is a good lad and his heart is in the right place.