About the Venue
History of Hereford Racecourse
Hereford Racecourse is owned by Herefordshire Council, leased and operated by Arena Racing Company. It is a popular racecourse for trainers starting their horse's careers and for prep races ahead of prestigious Festivals later in the season.
1771 first recorded race meeting at Hereford Rcecourse
1774 - 1883 Flat racing took place
1840 first hurdle race
1939 racing ceased for World War II
1946 racing resumed with £14,000 investment & land leased from HCC
1960s racecourse is modernised including buuildings on site today
1970 onwards number of racedays increased from 9 - 15 with some fixtures taken from the closure of Stockton Racecourse
1975 saw 219 runners in one day with 14 races!
2000 bought by Sir Stanley Clarke for £3m to join Northern Racing
2012 racceourse closed
2016 Hereford Racecourse reopened with 5,000 racegoers
The course is almost rectangular in shape measuring about 1m 3f around and is widely regarded as a fair, galloping track.
Many a horse has started off a glittering career, most recently Finian's Oscar made a stunning British debut at the track in December 2016.
0044 (0)1432 273560