Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'garway'.
This blow comes after Historic England refused to list the building because it no longer had its original doors and windows, despite the Old School’s significance in the history of education in Garway and the surrounding area into Wales and as a physical manifestation of the 1870 Education Act. Residents of Garway gather outside the Old School in protest of its demolition. Toni Fagan, Hereford Councillor, says: “Garway villagers are up in arms over an application to demolish the old Victorian school in the centre of the village. It is a lovely example of a Victorian schoolhouse and an essential part of the history and fabric of Garway village which can never be replaced.” ‘The planning legislation around this is infuriating. Herefordshire has become such a coveted place to live since Covid and this is such a stunning Victorian building which is so intrinsic to Garway’s heritage, and is much loved by the community. Wanting to demolish it under permitted development is an unfathomable waste of heritage, resources and carbon emissions.’ ‘It is clear from resident’s objections, currently 83 and numerous more last weekend, that this is a building ofenormous value to the community of Garway. I would appeal to the applicant, Gerard Davies, to reconsider his options and retest the market for a buyer who can save Garway Old School. This is a site which has had previous planning permission and is completely open for sympathetic development. It could easily be a win-win situation for all involved.’ Located within the idyllic setting of rural Herefordshire, Garway Old School (as it is now known) was originally built as a ‘board school’, consisting of a schoolhouse with an adjoining residence for the headteacher. Designed in a decorative Gothic style by local architect E. H. Lingen Barker, the school was completed in 1877, and opened in 1878 with fifty schoolchildren in attendance. Most board schools built at the time were concentrated in large cities where education provisions were worse, so the construction of the Old School in Garway makes it a rare example for such a small, rural village. History Prior to 1870, the local vicar educated the local children of Garway in the Chapel of St Michael’s Church. Following the Education Act of 1870, the Skenfrith School Board was established in 1874 and it was decided that a board school should be built in the village with a teachers residence provided nearby. The architect appointed was E. H. Linger Barker, who was Herefordshire born and had experience of designing schools in London. He also designed schools in Grosmont, New Inn (Cross Ash) and Norton, all across the Welsh border, for the Skenfrith School Board. His design for Garway’s new school consisted of a large schoolroom with tall windows, a smaller schoolroom, and an adjoining headmaster’s residence. There were two entrance lobbies, possibly to provide separate entrances for boys and girls. The building was multi-gabled and constructed of coursed rubble ashlar with a slate roof and crested roof tiles. The main schoolhouse displays external decoration which distinguishes it from the rest of the building such as a shield with the date 1877, Gothic brick hoodmoulds and recessed glazed quatrefoils. Planning Application P220401/PA7 #HerefordVoice | #HerefordshireNews | #Garway
Hereford & Worcester Fire and Rescue Service crews from Ewyas Harold Fire Station were called to a car fire in Garway yesterday, upon arrival the crew found the vehicle was well alight. Using BA and hose reel they crew extinguished the fire. Unfortunately the car was totally destroyed, even the alloys had partly melted. Thankfully no persons were injured. 📷 HWFRS